Egan Families


Compánach Finte na hÉireann

In 2016 Clans of Ireland awarded Professor Gregory Egan their most prestigious honour – the Order of Merit.

Dr Michael J.S. Egan, in his role as Chairman of Adjudication Council of the Board of Clans of Ireland and on the authority of Michael D. Higgins the President of Ireland, made Professor Egan a Companion of the Clans of Ireland by presenting him with the Order at the 2016 Dublin Gathering.

In responding to the citation Professor Egan said:

Whilst the award is an honour for me, it is a greater honour for our Clann. The award recognises the tireless work of many and I speak in particular of Elaine Egan, who founded the Australian & New Zealand Chapter, and was our first president, and my lady Sue, our Chapter's Registrar. There are of course many more, some present, and others here in spirit. I thank you all.

As Mac Aodhagáin stated previously it is a great honour for our Clan that it now has three people with the Order of Merit the others being the Mac Aodhagáin Dr Michael J.S. Egan and Tanist Byron Egan. No other Clan has this distinction.

Clann Mac Aodhagáin Australia & New Zealand
Copyright © 2000-2023 Clann
Mac Aodhagáin (Australia & New Zealand)- All rights reserved. Last updated November 2023.